JPS Health Network Earns Level III Neonatal Care Status

July 2nd, 2018

JPS Heath Network’s Neonatal Intensive Care Unit has been designated as a Level III Neonatal Facility in Perinatal Care Region-E by the Texas Department of State Health Services.

JPS Health Network

JPS Health Network

“What this means is that we can provide care to babies as little as 23 weeks gestation who are delivered prematurely,” said Raquel Armstrong, JPS Neonatal Intensive Care Unit RN Clinical Manager. “Without it, we can’t admit those babies or deliver for those mothers” whose pregnancy doesn’t make it for the full 40 weeks.

There are four levels of neonatal care certification, according to the Texas Department of Health and Human Services. The higher the number, the more advanced the level of care a particular facility can provide. Level I allows the operation of well nurseries, Level II is for Special Care Nurseries, Level III is for Intensive Care and Level IV is Advanced Intensive care. So far, 26 neonatal units have been certified a Level III facilities and 16 have been certified as Level IV providers.

The certification process is a new state requirement, according to Armstrong, so this is the first time JPS has sought certification. All neonatal medical centers hoping to be certified had to have their applications submitted by June 29.

“There are a lot of steps in the process, so we’re happy that we were able to be successful,” Armstrong said. “We turned in our application and the American Academy of Pediatrics came in and did our survey in January and it took until the end of June to process everything.”

The Level III Neonatal Facility designation is good until April 1, 2021.

“It is with great pleasure that the Texas Department of State Health Services designates John Peter Smith Hospital as a Level III Neonatal Facility,” the notification letter from the state read. “Your hospital is to be commended for its commitment to ensure quality care for neonatal patients in your area.”

Share this article!