Orthopaedic Surgery

Meet the Program Leadership and Core Faculty

Brian G. Webb, MD

Dr. Webb graduated from Wake Forest University in 1998 with a Bachelor of Science degree in Health and Exercise Science and received his Doctor of Medicine degree from Indiana University School of Medicine in 2002 with honors. He completed his orthopaedic surgery residency in the Fort Worth Affiliated Hospitals Orthopaedic Residency Program in 2007, now the John Peter Smith Orthopaedic Residency Program.

Dr. Webb completed an orthopaedic surgery sports medicine fellowship at Methodist Sports Medicine/The Orthopedic Specialists in Indianapolis, Ind., in 2008. Dr. Webb's research and publications include several basic science and clinical projects. He has lectured on multiple topics, including cartilage restoration, shoulder injuries in throwing athletes, rotator cuff tears, multi-ligamentous knee injuries, athletic knee injuries, acute and chronic joint pain, imaging of the musculoskeletal system and perioperative complications.

Dr. Webb is board certified by the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons, with an added Certificate of Qualification in Sports Medicine.

Dr. Webb has specialized training in arthroscopic and open treatment of injuries and chronic deterioration of the shoulder, elbow, wrist, hip, knee, leg and ankle.  He has special interests in pediatric and adult athletic injuries, cartilage restoration, meniscal repair and transplantation, and ligament reconstruction.

He is the UNT Health Science Center student director of orthopaedic education and the director of sports medicine for the JPS Orthopaedic Residency Program. He has been named Teacher of the Year for two different years. In addition, Dr. Webb is a volunteer team physician for Keller and Fort Worth school districts. He was named a Top Doc by Fort Worth Monthly magazine and a Super Doctors Texas Rising Star.

Program Director
Russell Wagner, MD
Specialty: Orthopedics
Subspecialty: Join Replacement
Board Certification: Orthopedics Surgery

Dr. Wagner joined the faculty at the John Peter Smith Hospital Orthopaedic Residency. Program in 1997 and became a full-time faculty member and Vice Chairman in 2003. Dr. Wagner was born in Stephenville, Texas and graduated from high school in El Paso, Texas. He received a Bachelor of Business Administration degree in Accounting and passed the Certified Public Accounting Examination in 1981. In 1987, Dr. Wagner graduated from the University of Texas Southwestern Medical School in Dallas and began residency in Orthopaedic Surgery at Wayne State University in Detroit, Mich.

He then completed a fellowship in Adult Reconstruction with Drs. William Head and Roger Emerson in Dallas, and opened his private practice in Fort Worth, Texas in 1993. Dr. Wagner became the JPS Residency Program Director in 2007 and the Chairman of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery-UNTHSC-TCOM in 2015.

Dr. Wagner was named physician of the year for Harris Methodist Hospital in 1999 and for John Peter Smith Hospital in 2008. He is the past president of the Tarrant County Orthopedic Society and a member of the Texas Orthopedic Society, Texas Medical Association, American Medical Association, American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery, American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons, American Orthopaedic Association and the American Association of Hip and Knee Surgeons. Dr. Wagner is an examiner for the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery and has been named Top Doc by Fort Worth Magazine and Super Doc by Texas Monthly annually for many years.

Professional History:

  • Medical School: UT Southwestern
  • Internship: Wayne University-Michigan
  • Residency: Wayne University-Michigan
  • Fellowship: UT Southwestern
  • Interests/Special Procedures: Joint Replacement
Program Coordinators:
Program Coordinator
Ramona Guyden
Orthopaedic Surgery Residency Program